Deco · Design · DIY · General · handmade · Mixed Media · Tutoriales · Tutorials

AlTeReD JaR

Altered Bottle

I find decorating bottles and jars as a very pretty way to create Art. I started using decoupage and acrylics, then applying stamps, stencils and modeling paste. What you get is something really beautiful, a simple bottle or jar is turning into a pretty piece of Deco.

Altered Bottles & Jars

You can decorate your favorite place at home with something you made by yourself.

Altered Bottles & Jars

Altered Bottles & Jars

I am saving any bottle or jar now, instead of throwing them into the trash.

Altered Bottles & Jars Altered Bottles & Jars

Altered Bottles & Jars Altered Bottles & Jars

On the way to get new ideas on how to decorate them, I found two videos I would like to share with you. The videos are on Yshascraftyside’s Youtube Channel and what she does to decorate a bottle is simple, easy, fast and with a beautiful result.

My AlTeReD JaR is inspired by these two great videos you will find at the end of this post.

The next photos show the transformation process of my jar. I started covering it with modeling paste and before it dried I added to it buttons, pieces of fabric, little beads, laces, wherever I thought it would create a nice combination for my decoration. I left it dry and then applied black acrylic all around. Once it was dried I applied another layer of acrylic, this time a purple/reddish color. This last layer of acrylic does not need to be an even application of painting, the idea is to let visible part of the color of the previous layer which was black. The last layer of acrylic I applied was a golden color and, as the previous layer, the application of the painting was not even in order to let visible part of the other two previous colors. The final effect is a jar with three shades of colors, besides, the ornaments on it, make the simple jar a really unique piece of Art.

Altered Bottle

Altered Bottle

Altered Bottle

Altered Bottle

Altered Bottle

 Altered Bottle

Altered Bottle

Altered Bottle

Altered Bottle

Here are the amazing videos from Yshascraftyside’s Youtube Channel:

 

Enjoy!

 

Leave a comment if you feel like...

